Sulfates – To be free or not to be free?

For the past two years or so I have been hearing mixed reviews about sulfates in hair products. Sulfates are what make shampoo lather to give us the “clean” feeling…I know I don’t feel like I’m rinsing out all of the product in my hair if my shampoo doesn’t lather. Sulfates are said to dry out hair and strip colour. As someone who dyes my hair quite often, I need a shampoo that will help nourish my hair and keep the colour vibrant.

I recently bought L’Oreal Ever Pure Sulfate Free from Shoppers Drug Mart. This product is made specifically for colour treated hair and it is affordable. I spent less than $20 for the shampoo AND conditioner! …aannnnddd…I LOVED IT. The shampoo lathered and gave me the feeling that I was actually cleaning my hair and the conditioner made my hair silky smooth. I wasn’t sure how it would react with my curly hair, but my frizz is under control and my curls are still nice and bouncy. 

The scent of this product is what really won me over though. The fresh scent of rosemary & juniper awakened my senses early in the morning and had be bouncing out of the shower feeling ready for the day ahead of me. I felt like I was walking through an herb garden. My hair holds the scent all day too!

You need to try this product if you want to be rid of sulfates and have healthy, shiny coloured hair. Did I mention it’s 100% vegan?

Image

 

Leave a Reply

